';

The Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Visit Website

Telephone: 0151 706 2000
Prescot Street
Liverpool
Merseyside
L7 8XP
NHS Choices

Reviewed 43 times
Average rating: 4 Stars

If you have had an experience with The Royal Liverpool University Hospital and would like to share it, please leave your feedback below.


Most recent feedback

NHS Choices

Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to hear about your experiences. We'd like to speak to you about this so we can investigate further. Because we cannot contact you via this website, would you please get in touch with us? You can contact our Customer Relations Team and they will contact our deputy director of nursing for you as she would to talk to you. You can contact them by phoning 0151 706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. Thank you.

Share on Facebook
Loading...

63 Reviews for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital in Liverpool

Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry to hear about your experiences. We'd like to speak to you about this so we can investigate further. Because we cannot contact you via this website, would you please get in touch with us? You can contact our Customer Relations Team and they will contact our deputy director of nursing for you as she would to talk to you. You can contact them by phoning 0151 706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. Thank you.

17 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
The lack of basic care and dignity on ward 7a
My husband spent 6 days on that dreaded ward left unwashed and in a bed that had a sheet with blood stains on it due to my husband having been given blood. Myself and my grandson asked for it to be changed and were told someone will do it asap but guess what it never was. We returned the next day to find no clean bed and my husband left sitting on a chair by the bed with his head on his knees unable to even stand up because of his illness so me and my grandson assisted him back into bed. I was so disgusted as I rang the ward before visiting him and was told oh yes he is fine had a wash and shave no problem well all I can say is my husband had been admitted many times in the RLUH on different wards and been very well cared for but ward 7a is one nightmare. My husband never came home.
1 Stars
16 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
First class service and friendly staff
Prior to my visit to the Trust on April 3rd, I had a very good counselling session, was provided with very useful information on bowel cancer and the process in a patient friendly manner. They also attended my colonoscopy.

Consultant, nurses, the counsellor plus the other staff who provided me with tea and biscuits after the process were all very friendly and professional.

I did go round in circles once as the signage seemed a bit wrong after the cafeteria.
5 Stars
10 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the department.

09 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
phlebotomy department
Following a clinic appointment I attended the phlebotomy department, on taking a number I realised that there were 96 people ahead of me, I sat down expecting a long wait and was
both surprised and pleased that I was attended to within half an hour.
During this time I observed the staff worked really hard and remained upbeat and treated everyone with care and respect.
The plebotomist that took my bloods was very pleasant and reassuring.
Thank you.
5 Stars
08 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the staff in the department.

05 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool Hospital (Resus Ward)
I would just like to commend the night staff working on the Resus ward that looked after my mother on the 27th /28th March 2013. As a family presented with a very stressful situation we found the staff on this ward to be extremely efficient, calm, supportive, considerate, hardworking and faultless. I was present to support my mother for at least 12 hours and professionalism of the staff responsible for this ward was consistent throughout. Just Like to say a big Thank you for your care.
5 Stars
04 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment Lydia. We have passed it on to staff in the department. We wish your mother the best of luck with her future surgery. Thank you.

04 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Thank you for looking after my elderly mother
My 90 year old mother arrived at A&E having fallen at home. In both A&E and in the minor trauma unit she was treated compassionately with dignity and respect. Doctors and nurses talked with her throughout her time and took time to support family members. At my mothers request one doctor even took the time to telephone me to discuss my mothers condition so that I would know what was happening. (I live in Wiltshire.)
My mother has to return to the hospital to have surgery but because of the support and friendliness she received at the hospital, she is not afraid of what lies ahead for her.
Thank you from all our family.
Dr Lydia A B

04 Apr 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with us. Your comment has been passed on to the directorate manager for urology. If you would like us to investigate your complaint and get back to you, then we will need to you to get in touch with some contact details. You can do this by contacting the Customer Relations Team. You can contact them by phoning 0151 706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. The urology service at Broadgreen did used to be based at the Royal (it's all the same NHS Trust) and we will ask NHS Choices to put the service under Broadgreen. Please do get in touch as we would like to be able to respond to your concerns directly. Thank you.

21 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Broadgreen Urology The Planet That God Forgot
1) I've never waited less than 40 minutes for my outpatient appointments, the average is probably 90 minutes. I was given the first appointment of the day once, and still waited 70 minutes after my appointment time.
2) I am terrifically sick of being told how 'normal' stuff is. It may be the 457th time the consultant has seen this everyday problem but it's my unique misery.
3) Why are TRUBS patients collected together and prepped by 11.00 am and then dealt with in order of the file pile, meaning you turn up and wait 6 hours while someone else is home in an hour. And why are there 6 nurses falling over each other for the first four hours and then one after lunch.
4) Why have I had a miserable existence for 2 years before being prscribed Finasteride which sorted the problem in 48 hours. Just how hysterical to you have to be for you people to listen.

5) Drop the bow ties men, it makes you look status-needy and out-of-touch. And finally, if you must incessantly doodle whilst getting your patient to describe events because you're too lazy to read the notes, at least don't let the patient see the doodles. Sort yourselves out because I'm watchfully waiting you lot with a complaint form.

You are even hiding from users of this web site as Broadgreen has no Urology department available for comment (you probably daren't have one).
If anyone ever reads this, do me a favour, don't redirect me, re-direct this message. Otherwise I will conclude that everyoine in the NHS is staff-focussed and not patient-focussed.
2 Stars
20 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. I understand that you have been in touch with our deputy director of nursing, Sue, and also with the ward manager. We have received your email with further comments and someone from the Trust will be in touch with you today. If you need any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Relations Team or Sue, the deputy director of nursing. Thank you.

19 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you didn't have a good experience with us. We have asked one of the doctors in our Emergency Department to look into this. We are always keen to receive feedback. If you would like to contact the Customer Relations Team, they will be able to help. You can contact them by phoning 0151 706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. Thank you.

19 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
AED attendance
I attended AED this evening after experiencing lower back pain that got progressively worse over 7 days culminating in severe pain this evening. I went on NHS Direct website that Advised I visit AED with my symptoms. Working full time I am unable to get an emergency GP appointment. I attended AED and was promptly booked in by the clerk who was polite, courteous and efficient and waited to be triaged. After approx 90 mins ( I thought I was going to get assistance and would have waited all night) I was called by the triage nurse, for what I naively thought, to be assessed. How wrong was I. The "assessment" lasted less than one minute. I advised of my pain and how I thought it occurred and was met with a curt reply of "it's not a trauma injury, you need to go to your GP". I was a little shocked by this and advised that the pain was now severe and I could not get a GP appointment at short notice and was advised to attend a walk in centre. I apologised to the Triage Nurse for wasting her time and exited the triage room. In theory the walk in centre was he correct advice . However, I attended the AED for assistance in relieving my pain but left feeling chastised and that I was wasting the Triage Nurses time....thanks for that. After a 12 hour shift in work in pain I did not take the decision lightly to attend AED lightly. I consulted NHS. Direct and followed the advice to attend hospital. I guess NHS Direct should update their advice to attend AED but not RLBUHT. It pains me to write such a negative review of the the Royal but I needed their assistance but was sent away as if I was a naughty schoolboy.....and still in pain.....apologies for wasting their time
3 Stars
18 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Ward 5Y - avoid
My nan is currently a patient on Ward 5Y, she is 93 and admitted for anemia (this is a dizzy unstable person) and she has been clinically assessed as 1 point of malnourished.
So far, in the care of this hospital and ward she has been -

Allowed to have a fall (she is 93!). I had to actively seek out and question senior staff to explain.
Had soiled clothes and pads left by her bed
Had scans delayed due to a lack of proper care and change of necessary medication to allow scans to take place, thereby keeping her in the place 5 extra days.
Been allowed to refuse food all day, despite being clearly flagged as a patient who needed attention paying to their food and fluid intake.

This hospital seems to me to be a sham and can't attend to the basics. There are some nice staff there but nice doesn't mean effective, nice doesn't mean efficient. Nice just means nice, how useful is that on its own if 93 year old patients are left poorly cared for and the clinical side is poor too.

Avoid at all costs and find a different hospital if you have a choice.

I'm waiting for someone to contact me about this already. They had better be quick otherwise I will definately be approaching the local media about this mess.

This place has had a new CEO since July 2012 and Ward 5Y received awards in August 2012.....someone isn't doing their job properly and those in senior levels are responsible and need to sort this out.
2 Stars
18 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the department.

11 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the department.

11 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the department. Hope your husband is now on the mend.

11 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Thank You
While on holiday in Liverpool last week on Thursday evening 7th my husband fell with the help of 2 young men they helped him to his feet and called an ambulance The 2 ambulance men were wonderfull also the night staff ,he had 5 stitches in his forehead and we were able to travel back to Swansea on Friday so once again thank you all
Thank you

11 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you are not happy with the experience you had on ward 9B. This ward is for programmed investigations and day patients are generally not required to undress. For this reason ward 9B is exempt from same sex protocol. If you would like to report your concerns so they can be addressed appropriately please contact the Customer Relations Team by phoning 0151 706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265.

07 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Privacy
I took my mum to 9b today for treatment, she required an injection in to her abdomen, the area had both man women in close proximity. There were only portable screens to protect her privacy. There was gentle man right behind her, the nurse found it difffercult to pull the screens around her to give her any privacy. She then pulled the screens into the middle of the room and asked could my mum stand, and so i said no she could not, she tried once again to protect her privacy with the screens. Then asked could she slip her dress off, which my mum refused, as the privacy was totally inadequate. My mum opened a few buttons on her dress to allow the injection to be given. There just seemed to no place in the room suitable for a patient to be asked slip off there clothes for the injection to be given and allow any sort of privacy. There were 3 male patients in the room and 3 female patients.
3 Stars
05 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
thank you
I had an echo-cardiogram in the cardiology / respiratory department today , and feel the need to share with you all my experience . The young man who did the test made me and my husband at ease immediately, he explained everything to us and made sure I was comfortable all through the test .I have been quite poorly since Christmas and need further tests seeing this the young man arranged for me to have a monitor fitted today instead of having to return in 10 days.I am so thankful that only the one journey has been necessary and extremely thankful for his concern and care it was his suggestion to do this and he made it happen .I am really thankful and feel uplifted by this kindness thank you so much .
5 Stars
01 Mar 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Excellent Care at St Paul's Eye Unit
I have had numerous consultations, eye measurements, an injection and two operations at St Paul's (ops in October and February) and the quality of care and the skill/dedication/knowledge of the staff has been excellent.

The only real waiting time was for pre-op blood tests in January and this was the first Monday after the Christmas holidays so the wait was understandable.

The Consultant, doctors, nurses, orthoptists, reception staff, etc have been great - very thorough....

Thanks very much - I would certainly recommend St Paul's.....
5 Stars
23 Feb 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comments about General Surgery. We are pleased that you had a good experience. We will pass on your comments to our staff.

13 Feb 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
thank you
went to liverpool last year on a trip im a young woman from ireland .the day i arrived i took sick and was brought here for an operation .the nurses and doctors were brilliant very friendly ,they checked me all the time to my family got there from ireland.they really are a credit to liverpool .i just wish to thank them from the bottom of my heart they truly are amazing carers xx
5 Stars
09 Feb 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
We would like to offer our sincerest condolences for the loss of your Dad and are extremely sorry that to hear of your poor experience of care on Ward 5A. We would certainly like to find out more from you so we can investigate this matter properly. If you would like to contact the Customer Relations Team, they will be able to help. You can contact them by phoning 0151706 4903/2265, via complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or typetalk 18001 0151 706 4903/2265.

Alternatively, you can contact Sue Redfern, deputy director of nursing on 0151 706 5382.

08 Feb 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Big difference in care
My dad was admitted yesterday to A &E .He was treated promptly and well in resus and was then sent to 8Y .The staff on there were also brilliant and looked after my dad really well and kept us fully informed. I would like to thank them ,especially a certain nurse .She was very efficient.The staff were friendly and could not do enough .Sadly we can not say the same about 5A. We followed dad on his transfer and out first contact was with the sister who barely looked at us ..no greeting from anyone and dad was taken to his place in a four bedded ward where we got a friendly greeting from the other patients. Dad was very poorly and had drips in both arms which were laying on the bed. A nurse came in and we asked if it was ok to go and get something to eat ( we had been in the hospital for 12 hours at this time ) She said yes but visiting ended at 8pm. This conversation was conducted at a distance as the nurse did not come within 4 feet of us .Dad was asleep at this time ..he had been awake for over 24 hours by this time so we took the opportunity to have a break while he appeared comfortable.
I was called at 4am to say he had deteriorated but no need to come in as he was stable. i rang back at 5 am to ask if I should come in ..they said no,,,,,,half an hour later he was dead.
I wish I had been with dad at this time and I know he may have died suddenly but was told he was vomitting blood and insertion of a naso gastric tube was attempted so he did not die suddenly . I also understand that the ward were maybe to busy to call but my thinking is that if he had stayed on 8Y he would have been better cared for.
4 Stars
07 Feb 13
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comment. We have passed this on to the department. We hope you are now feeling better. Thank you.

12 Dec 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Quick service, job done, friendly staff.
I would like the doctor who treated me to know what a great job I feel she did. She has put my mind at ease. Long live the NHS!
Nothing
5 Stars
11 Dec 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your very kind comments about our staff and services. We have passed them on to our Palliative Care Team and to our Reception Team. We are pleased that you were looked after so well in what were difficult circumstances. Thank you.

27 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Awesome, caring, kindness and such a calm tranquil atmosphere
I went to visit my very poorly cousin in The Royal Liverpool university hospital Sunday 25th November 2012 and I was overwhelmed by the kindness of literally every single member of staff and people who worked there. I firstly had nowhere to park but the lady on reception, left her desk to check and make sure I would be left in peace and not receive any parking tickets. I was in tears but I was spoken to, given some beautiful kind words and it touched me deeply. The lady on reception at 2pm was simply "the best" she even said she had been thinking about me and hoped my visit had been okay.

I went into see my cousin and the palliative care my cousin receives appears to be wonderful. Then I discovered my aunty was also in hospital in the ward opposite and I went to visit her at the same time, again I was in floods of tears but the staff, made me feel very welcome and helped me through such a difficult time. I had to drive the 5 hour journey home back to London but as a nurse myself, Liverpool hospitals, win hands down "simply awesome" Thank you from my heart for making my cousins time there as peaceful and comfortable as possible. He was actually married in the hospital on Friday and the hospital staff made it very special.

I feel homesick now to come back to Liverpool.
Nothing to improve, a please and an honor to be a scouser
Thank you for looking after my cousin and aunt, my cousins who work there and for helping me to park
5 Stars
27 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will pass them onto the staff in the department. We hope you are now on the way to recovery. Thank you.

06 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We will pass them onto the staff in the department. We hope you are now on the way to recovery. Thank you.

06 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
I felt relevant to my visit all actions were performed efficiently.
I was treated with care and consideration throughout my visit. I was seen in good time by the doctors and nurses who were thorough, giving a clear explanation of the protocols and procedures. I was treated with respect and kindness putting me at constant ease. The staff seemed to communicate efficiently with each other.
I was very happy with the care I received.
5 Stars
06 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
A commendable experience from professional, empathic and intelligent staff.
Involved in a road traffic accident, was in a state of shock and was reassured by staff. Staff we're efficient and well mannered towards me, made me feel at ease and comfortable in such a busied environment. I felt like each step of my care transitioned smoothly and I was made aware of the decisions and evaluation behind my situation by the doctors and nurses involved. The whole experience was all I could have asked for and I commend all the staff involved.
I was completely satisfied that, in my situation, all aspect of my care and well-being were met successfully.
5 Stars
06 Nov 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your kind comments Mr Gray. We will pass them on to the staff in the Emergency Department. We are really pleased that you had a positive experience with us. We hope you're now feeling better. Thank you.

14 Sep 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Great care all round, from coming in to going out
From Reception, to Triage, to X-Ray, to the doctor who looked after me and fixed my dislocated shoulder, even when it popped out again, everyone treated me like I was the most important person in their world at that time. And free wi-fi too...
Can't think of anything
Walked in 8pm on a Thursday, fearing the worst, expected an all night stay, but when you really need to be seen quickly its moving all the time. Very well looked after by everyone. Big thanks
5 Stars
13 Sep 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust replies:
Thank you for your comment. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us. We would like to find out more from you so we can investigate your concerns. To investigate your concerns, we need to speak to you. Our Customer Relations Team can be contacted on 0151 706 4903/2265 or you can email complaints@rlbuht.nhs.uk or you can use Typetalk on 18001 0151 706 4903/2265. Thank you.

10 Sep 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Too long a wait and poor communication
Junior doctor we saw was friendly
Waiting area uncomfortable and unwelcoming with hard metal seats. Communication poor. 6 hours waiting time even though sent with letter from GP who was clearly concerned. Consultant had poor attitude. Staff unclear what was happening. This was second 6 hour stint in A&E in four days. Previous visit was Fazakerly which was just as disorganised but also dirty.
Poor systems and lack of communication just make feeling I'll even worse. The NHS needs desperate improvement.
3 Stars
05 Sep 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
effecient and friendly staff who examined me and gave good advice
effective and speedy triage
knowledgeable and friendly staff
staff rfeassuring as was my first visit to this departement with acute symptons
nothing - was clerked, triaged and seen by medical staff withihn hour and half.
5 Stars
29 Aug 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
effective treatment received in a busy inner city hospital minor injuries
Staff effecient and mostly friendly.
4 hour wait on a mid week afternoon!!
No clocks in minor injury waiting area so had no idea of time passing - is this delibirate?
Hot drinks machine out of order and cold drinks vending machine virtually empty.
No cold water drinking faciliies - so 4 hrs without a druink as I had no chnage for the vending machine.
No effort to update patients in waiting area - only a loop on the wall mounted TV which stated that the wait was 3 - 3.5 hrs. so if not sitting in front of the TV patients unaware of potential time to wait. A white board for this purpose could at least be made more visible and updated by the department. on a regular basis.
insufficent seats bearing in mind that most patients attend with a relative/ friend - only 36 seats in waiting room in total - insufficent for a busy inner city hospital minor injuries unit.
dealt with promptly onece seen by ANNP and x rayed
5 Stars
29 Aug 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Always an absolute fantastic treament.
I have been admitted many times to this excellent hospital, I suffer from Chronic pancreaitis,
I am always treated Very quick,the staff are excellent, and do more than just care for you,they make you feel so welcome and treat you with the upmost respect,Nothing is any trouble to them and they are always cheerfull,They even show respect to the many drunks and drug users who often give abuse to them,yet they still carry out there duties to the full,
I fully respect all the staff who work there,Doctors,Nurses.Cleaners,Porters etc etc,
Well done to all of you,and many many thanks for all the great care I always receive, Thank you all, Tommy McNaught & Family.
5 Stars
16 Aug 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Hospital Comment
I don't like anything about this shambolic hospital full of very rude staff.
Staff member's attitudes in A&E were appauling I was treated as a 2nd class citizen, I was disgusted as a nurse on the ward tried to actually pick a fight with me because I complained about the service, I had fainted and all I remember was ''get up'' horrible experience, rubbish service.
2 Stars
09 Aug 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
absolutley horrible.
There is very little i can say i liked about this hospital the only person i felt treated me with respect was the porter that took me to scans, he was kind and always had a smile on his face.
could of been improved is an understatment. when i arrived in the a&e i was complaining about abdo pain, vomiting and dizzyness. my blood count containing the white blood cells were high and showed infection. after hours of waiting around i was told i needed to be admitted and was told to wait for a bed. that was at 11pm. by 2.30am they had brought down a hospital bed from a ward turned the light of and i spent the next 3 hours sleeping in an a&e cubicle, not being checked on for hours. when i finally was taken upstairs i had 2 hours sleep before being woken up by a doctor. he told me he thinks the pain i was gettin was caused by a cyst on my ovary or some other gyni problem. he was rude and never looked at me and explained my case he talked about me infront of me to his junior doctors. I was then told at 8 oclock that morning i would be getting a scan. my scan did not happen until the following afternoon. i was only told by the doctor that did the scan and the porter what my results of the scan were my doctor never came round to inform me. through the night sickness was worsening and i rang the buzzer many a times for help but no nurse came. in the morning the doctor cam round and said he wanted to do a laposcopy to investigate as they thought it was my appendix. the operation was meant to take half an hour. during the op i had a reaction to a sickness drug and started confulsing. i was in recovery for 6 hours. my parents were never told what had happend they were never even informed what was going on. after the op i was in imense pain. i was given codean when i asked for it, it was never just brought to me. all through the night i was asking for pain relief and was told the doctor could only give me some in the morning so i lay in pain hours after my op all night. the doctor came round the following morning and told me i had a cyst on my ovary that had ruptured. i could be sent home. i was in so much pain my dressings were weaping and i couldnt keep any
(carried on from what might be improved)
medications down, i said i didnt feel well enough, i couldnt even walk to the toliet.
abour 4 hours later a doctor came round who id never seen before and said, ' there is no reason for you to be in any pain, your operation went fine.' i was stunned. what part had gone fine?
i said i had a cyst, she told me i didnt and even if i did i should be in any pain now, unless there was a reason why i didnt want to go home? i was so angry! how dare she?!i said i wanted to speak to someone else she said, you wont get anymore senior than me.
they sent me home in pain, i developed an infection and i am still swollen, they should have gave me antibiotics striaght away but they didnt.
this hospital is discusting, the level of care and communication is unacceptable. i will be making a formal complaint.
2 Stars
04 Jul 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
excellent service by excellent staff
Short waiting time, efficient service
5 Stars
12 Jun 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
awful and never want to go back after being treated with such disrespect...
The toilets were filthy and smelly, toilet roll all over the place.
It was not the first time I've visited the Royal as I have a serious health condition and have been advised by my GP that should my state worsen I must attend A&E.
Every single time i've attended I've been made to feel like I'm wasting their time, that I'm complaining for nothing, and because of my age, they always seem to dismiss my health issues to some form of infection (With no proof, and every time they run the same tests of course they always come back negative).
Upon attending I needed help, but the nurse I saw was so rude to me, making me feel like an idiot for even being in A&E that I just burst out crying. He gave me some painkillers and left me, as they always do in that place. I requested his name from another female nurse so that I should be able to make a complaint - she looked at me, clearly having heard what I said and then just walked off.
As I stated it's not the first time I've attended the hospital and the nurses have always been rude and dismissive; not only to me but friends have also commented on the exact same treatment.
I am disgusted and wish I could afford private healthcare because I have no faith in the NHS's services, especially not at the Royal!
1 Stars
11 Jun 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
couldnt have had better care anywhere else but the royal liverpool hospital
on 1/6/12 Ihad to attend ward 9B for treatment for osteoporosis ,as this was the first time having treatment on 9B i was a bit apprehensive ,from the moment i went onto the ward i was treated with respect and cared for so well,The atmosphere was so friendly and caring nothing was to much trouble for the staff ,they were very profesional in all they did,the ward was spotlessly clean,I have been attending the royal liverpool hospital for 3 years and have not a bad word to say about it my care has been second to none ,excellent hospital.
5 Stars
03 Jun 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
bad attitudes
This hospital nver fails to let me down, waited 2 hours to see a doctor so i could ask questions on the terrible treatment and care(harm) I received! and all they give me is 5 minutes with a nurse who had only read the pharmacy leaflet, did'nt have any answers for me, wasted my time and money going there, never again
they could send the staff to any one of the 13 european countries who are better at medicine and learn from them- I say Germany, because I would love the healthcare they recieve
1 Stars
23 May 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
currently disappointed
Physio staff and students are extremely attentive and make efforts to help you.
Communication between theatre and nursing staff
I am currently a patient on ward 4x, yesterday I was scheduled to have surgery and at 3pm was told to get ready, porters are on there way, at 3.30pm I was informed that my op had been cancelled as a member of theatre staff hadn't turned up for a shift, something I find wholelly unacceptable, surely the hosipital has contingencies for such matters, now no one can tell me when my op may be - it could be tomorrow - it could be next week - no one seems to know. I am not from the Liverpool area and my family cannot visit every day as they and I would like as it is a 30 mile journey one way.
Currently feel really let down.
3 Stars
10 May 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
the most stress free time I have ever spent in hospital
from going to outpatients for appointments to ward 8x before my operation and then to ACRU after my operation the nurses,consultants, doctors,phlebotomists,volunteers, cleaning staff and catering were absolutely marvellous at a time when you feel very low they were extemely kind and caring.
the wards were spotless the food was lovely with a great deal of choice plenty of drinks even ice for our water
I would normally dread the thought of going back in hospital from past experiences but after this I wouldnt be nervous at all
in this day and age were people complain all the time it is lovely to be able to sing the praises of such a wonderful hospital
the only complaint is that ACRU is a very hot ward but the staff did their best to cool it down
5 Stars
29 Mar 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
very good
4 Stars
28 Mar 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
first class
i was brought in to the hospital and initially treated by paramedics in an ambulance.onto a&e and then upto ward 7a were i stayed for a couple of weeks. from being brought in - the paramedics , the a&e staff and every single member of the ward staff my treatment was second to none.
it goes without saying i and the other patients were treated with respect and dignity.beyond that we were treated with good light hearted humour when appropriate which definately helped after all laughter is the best medicine.
it was obvious to me especially whilst on ward 7a just how much pride all the staff have on this ward - pride in how clean they keep the ward - pride in their treatment of patients.
well deserved pride
thank you 7a
some patients attitude and respect towards the staff.
thank you to all the staff at the royal.
5 Stars
01 Mar 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Worst A&E experience I have ever had. Be warned
After being admitted into the Royal, I really hope I will never have to go there again. I fell and was in a lot of pain. It took a long time for someone to see me. I had to beg for painkillers, was not given any reassurance or information about my injury. I had to constantly ask about what was going on and what I had to do next. I never got a straight answer. The staff were very rude and disrespectful. I was just expected to walk out the hospital. When I screamed in pain, the staff then changed their minds. Being admiited to the Royal Liverpool Hospital was an horrible experience. I advise people to go to another A&E if they want to treat as a human being with some respect and dignity.
The staff to treat pastients as human beings. Communicate with patients and listen to patients who are in stressed manner and in pain.
2 Stars
11 Feb 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
The bone marrow transplant unit here in my opinion is exeptional
My brother was being treated in the bone marrow transplant unit. His treatment was exceptional. His doctors were willing to try new drugs and medication to improve his condition to the best of their ability. They were very informative and talked to all of us about what they had planned to do every time they came up against an obstacle. They were extremely professional and went out of their way to make sure that everything they were doing was the very best thing for him.
The nursing staff were also fantastic both with my brother , his wife and myself. They were reassuring throughout, extremely caring and professional.
Unfortunately, although every effort was made my brother passed away while on this unit. Again the staff were amazing, they treated him with the upmost of dignity and were very supportive.
If only all hospitals and staff were like this unit!
We couldn't have asked for better care!
They only thing that I beleive that could be improved on in this unit would be the size of the rooms. Hopefully this will be addressed when the new hospital is being designed. Because the rooms are isolated and patients are in them for sometimes months, with few visitors it can be claustraphobic. The nurses and doctors also struggle because of the amount of equipment needed the rooms just aren't big enough!
5 Stars
01 Feb 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
An experience I will not forget for all the right reasons,
The staff were very friendly,informative and very helpful and I cannot fault any part of my visit in any way.
The doctor was straight forward in telling me what my condition was and possible treatments,
I have no hesitation in recommending Liverpool Royal to any one.
5 Stars
28 Jan 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Mine was a very positive experience.
I was seen immediately by a consultant when a 24-hour ECG had revealed the need for a pacemaker. A pre-op appointment was arranged shortly afterwards and two weeks later the device was fitted. I was treated with courtesy and competence at every stage by nurses, doctors, administrative and domestic staff.

My situation was not one of immediate urgency but I appreciated the speed and efficiency with which everything was arranged and, of course, the professional skills of the medical and surgical staff.

The entire team has my sincere thanks.
The only negative point is that the hospital menu does not mark gluten-free dishes as such. This would be a small improvement but very significant for coeliac patients. In fact, the very helpful lady who served the meals went to ask the kitchen staff which dishes were gluten-free. She was given the incorrect information that they were marked with a small heart! Of course, those dishes are the ones which are healthy for the heart, ie low in fat etc. but not necessarily gluten-free. I realised that, but incorrect information should not have been given; some patients might have been confused or believed what they were told about the food. Supermarkets and more and more restaurants are aware of gluten-free foods and label them accurately. Surely a hospital should do the same!
My recent experience gave me a very positive impression of the Royal.
5 Stars
03 Jan 12
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Awful
Appalling service from the Opthalmology Department.

I have been waiting for an appoitment for the last six months.

I have been cancelled four times.

Truely awful.
2 Stars
04 Dec 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Poor
Nil - I have visited the Royal on several occassions now and it always seems to of a low standard.
Waiting over 45 minutes for Triage in A&E. I thought that Triage meant that patients were seen quickly and then assessed, advised and prioritised. The assessment was brief bordering on non-existent and the advice was even worse. Having already waited 1 hour we were told it would be at least another 2 hours before we saw a Doctor.
Working in the NHS I understand the pressures and unfortunately, on occassion, the limitations it has. But the waiting time simply to be triaged and then the attitude of the assessment I felt was poor.
I have always been a strong supporter of the NHS as a healthcare system, and still think that a health service that is free at the point of use is a wonderful ideal, but if due to whatever reason the standard of the care is going to be at the level I experienced tonight perhaps things need to be changed.

25 Nov 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Try elsewhere
The nursing staff are friendly
Sexual Health Services are poorly staffed/resourced.
3 Stars
19 May 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
An enlightening experience with100% Satisfaction!
I saw the Consultant ... I was seen almost immediately at the time of my appointment. It was discovered eye surgery was needed and they were able to fit me in for the surgery that morning instead of having to wait for an appointment. Laser surgery was performed. It was slightly uncomfortable but not painful. I had every confidence in the Consultant who showed a calm relaxed and friendly persona at all times.
My follow up appointment was also a fast and friendly experience. The appointment was at 9am I was back home by 10am. Excellent!
4 Stars
13 May 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
Felt secure and at ease in a professional caring environment
Admitted through GP referral through the AMU. Staff in the AMU were friendly and showed genuine care and concern despite being obviously very busy. There was a reasonably long wait from initially being seen and waiting for test results but the staff kept checking I was ok and kept me informed about what was happening and how long they thought things might take.

Once the decision had been made to admit me to a gastro ward the process was quick and I was transferred with minimum disruption. The transfer of information was quick and the new staff were fully aware of my medical condition on arrival.

I was fully informed about all decisions relating to my treatment and felt involved in the decision making process. I was made to feel at ease about procedures and explanations were easy to understand. Staff were happy to answer questions.

The ERCP procedure in Gastro was fully explained and my concerns were addressed by the staff. There was a delay whilst waiting for the procedure as there was an equipment problem but the team kept me informed and I really felt they had 'gone out of their way' to ensure I could have the procedure as scheduled and not wait till the next day.

There was genuine care and attention from all doctors, nurses and auxiliary staff I dealt with, who ensured I was not in pain and were caring and sympathetic when I was obviously disappointed at not being discharged after a couple of days.

The ward was kept exceptionally clean and all staff were professional and caring throughout my stay.

I could not in anyway fault the exceptional job done by all those working at this hospital.
5 Stars
15 Feb 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
disgusting
apart from the nursing staff who are always helpful there was nothing i liked about the place
the services to the outpatients and the doctors to talk to the patients and hear what the patients after say instead of talking over them and pals the complaints department to investigate the complaints and to inform the person who as put the complaints in also why does it take over 10 days for a letter to be sent to GP and also why does it take 6 days for the trauma and orthopaedics clinic health records department to respond to a fax from a GP and why does the patient after chase up appointments and results and when u phone the number you was given get a very snotty and unhelpful secretary who tells you that you're results have not been looked at when really what i found out was that there was no outpatients appointments available at the hospital so why can a secretary with hold that information from a patient am still wait to hear over that from PALS but i wont hold me breath a lot of staff at the hospital should be sent on a customer service course
to many to mention if doctors want there own private practise then they shouldn't be working for the N.H.S no wounder you wait weeks for an appointment when they only do one day a wk at the hospital and soon as u walk in for your appointment the clinic is always running at least 2 hours late false ceiling tiles where missing exposing all patients to the years of dust that was above and plus there was no heating at the MRI department
1 Stars
24 Jan 11
Review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital
anonymous
NHS Choices
I went in for a minor operation and cannot fault anything about my visit and...
I went in for a minor operation and cannot fault anything about my visit and treatment. The staff were outstanding and the treatment and care I received was fantastic. I was very worried and nervous and the staff put me completely at ease explaining everything carefully so I was absolutely clear what would happen, who would do what and when and they gave me plenty of opportunities to ask questions. They were very understanding and looked after me so well. The operation went smoothly and the care and attention I received during my recovery was excellent. The area I stayed in was ladies only, with the appropriate level of privacy and it was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Since the procedure I have been back as an outpatient and had the same level of care and attention. The clinic has always been immaculate and clean and the staff are continually friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Excellent care and would absolutely recommend to others.
I honestly can't think of anything at all that could have improved my experience.
5 Stars
27 Oct 10

Add new review for The Royal Liverpool University Hospital